O Christmas Feast… O Christmas Feast…

Happy holidays! Or as we Dutch say, “Prettig kerstfeest!” Or…as our cats say, “Merry Catmas!”

Bow-Peep

We’re heading off soon for our traditional “waifs” Christmas feast with friends. Each year we either have lunch or dinner together — I guess it’s dunch or lunner this time, because we’re tucking in at about 3:30. I’ve made these delish pots of salted caramel sauce for our hosts:

Three Wise Jars

Three Wise Jars

Actually, um, the third jar is my Christmas present to myself. The jar on the left contains a generous splash of Frangelico liqueur. Next time I’ll try adding Cointreau. I’ve been saying forever that I’d like to make caramel sauce, since it’s one of my favourite things on earth to eat. I kept buying the ingredients for caramel-making, but I put off making a batch because I had nightmares about burning the sugar so badly I’d have to throw out my pots. However, this recipe by Stephanie at the Lick My Spoon blog was stupendously easy to follow, and the results are gorgeous. Clean-up was a cinch. No burning or crustiness whatsoever! The consistency is a little thin (it’s still cooling), but it will solidify a little more over time. It’s perfect now to drizzle over vanilla ice-cream, but I really should save room for dunch/lunner.

Hmm… Maybe a little tablespoon of caramel by itself won’t hurt…

In goes the cream... Click on the photo for the Lick My Spoon blog's recipe.

In goes the cream… Click on the photo for the Lick My Spoon blog’s recipe.

Frangelico salted caramel sauce + non-alcoholic salted caramel

Ta-da! Frangelico salted caramel sauce + non-alcoholic salted caramel

Enjoy your cooking adventures, everyone! Have a safe and happy break.

2 thoughts on “O Christmas Feast… O Christmas Feast…

Leave a Reply

